What’s in a Name?

hello-my-name-is_design
Juliet:
“What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet.”
Romeo and Juliet (II,ii,1-2)

Thinking about names is always interesting to me. These things which we go by, that are part of our identity; that are part of who we are as individuals and part of the definition of everyone. It is these things that set us apart from each other and make us all unique.

Sure there will be other people called Tom, and other people called Janie. There are over 7 billion of us! But YOU are the only one who is entirely you. You are the only Janie who has that distinct combination of personality traits and the only one with those finger prints. You are 100% you. That’s something I’m pretty thankful for because without this overwhelming uniqueness that everyone possesses, everything would be incredibly dull. Possibly even duller than waiting for artificial grass to grow. (I know! Dullness like that can be deadly.)

The shadow of the name is of course the meaning. The meaning behind my name is that my great-grandmother was called Elizabeth so therefore, my name was secured, however I personally like to believe that I’m actually named after Jane Austen heroine, Elizabeth Bennet. But hey, that’s just me. ‘Oath of God’ is apparently what Elizabeth means according to multiple baby name websites. I’m not particularly religious so I don’t really know how I feel about that meaning so I think I’ll say that Elizabeth means strong and smiley. Why not.

You might be wondering what ‘Osbwaec’ means. Well, fear not my friend! Osbwaec stands for ‘Our story begins with an empty chair’ and for those of you can’t quite pinpoint where you might have heard it before, it’s the first line from Nanny McPhee (2005).

Feel free to comment down below the meaning behind your name and what you feel the meaning of your name should be.

Stay well dudes,

Elizabeth

 

2 thoughts on “What’s in a Name?

  1. Hey Gurll!

    My name is Natasha and it means “Child born on Christmas”, which is kind of strange because I was born on a Tuesday. :/

    My name should mean sexy and influential, because that’s what I am!! #sexy #gurlpower

    Anyway, later peeps!

    TashiTashTasha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

